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Troopers from the Nevada Highway Patrol issued nearly 12,000 traffic 
citations to motorists observed talking, texting or reading non-voice 
communication while operating a motor vehicle on Nevada’s highways 
in 2012. 
 
The total fine for a first-time offense is $112.00 with zero points 

assessed against one’s driver’s license, while the second, third and subsequent offenses 
each have four demerit points added to the monetary fine.  When convicted, a second offense 
will cost a violator $192.00 while third and subsequent offenses each will total $352.00. To 
avoid a citation, motorists should be familiar with NRS 484B.165 which states, in part: 
 

 

Using handheld wireless communications device to type or enter text, send or read data, 
engage in non-voice communication or engage in voice communications without use of 
hands-free device unlawful; exceptions; penalty. 

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not, while operating 
a motor vehicle on a highway in this State: 
 

(a) Manually type or enter text into a cellular telephone or other handheld wireless 
communications device, or send or read data using any such device to access or 
search the Internet or to engage in non-voice communications with another person, 
including, without limitation, texting, electronic messaging and instant messaging. 
 

(b) Use a cellular telephone or other handheld wireless communications device to engage 
in voice communications with another person, unless the device is used with an 
accessory which allows the person to communicate without using his or her hands, 
other than to activate, deactivate or initiate a feature or function on the device. 
 

To view the complete NRS, please visit this link: 
 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-484B.html 
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Well, its 2013, the world didn’t 
evaporate and we’re still here.  And while the holiday season is 
intended to bring joy and happiness, sometimes life just gets in the way and we become 
“overstressed.”  
 
Some measure of stress is normal and actually good for us.  However, chronic unrelieved stress 
forces the body and mind to go into an unhealthy state. Medical conditions that are related to 
stress include heart and circulatory diseases, ulcers, colitis, asthmatic conditions and lowered 
immunity leading to infectious illnesses. Depression and anxiety are also commons symptoms of 
chronic stress overload. An overload of stress can also cause us to become more haphazard, 
leading to injuries at home and/or on the job.   
 
So what can you do to help yourself?  One step is to come to grips with the amount of stress you 
are under.  You can take any number of quality “Stress Index” tests available through such 
internet sites as: http://www.criticalincidentstress.com/what_is_your_stress_index_ or 
http://www.cmha.ca/mental_health/whats-your-stress-index/#.UOy4lqzfX94 
 
I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the services of our Employee Assistance Program (EAP), 
where services (the first two visits) are offered to State employees at no cost, and always held 
confidential. They are simply a toll free call away at: (888) 972-4732.  You can gain more 
information by visiting the following website: http://dop.nv.gov/eap.html. 
   
Be safe and be well –  
David Gould, Safety Director –Risk Management 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

                REPORTING OF  
                          FINE ARTS 
 
Coverage for Fine Arts/Museum exhibits are provided for under the State’s commercial 
property and contents insurance policy; and self funded program up to a sub-limit of $10 
million, subject to certain deductibles/exclusions. In order for an agency to obtain 
coverage for Fine Arts, agencies should provide Risk Management an inventory of items, 
photographs of objects,  the loan agreement (if applicable) outlining the agreed values and 
exhibit dates for the covered exhibit(s). For more information about the State’s Fine Arts 
coverage, please contact Maureen Martinez, Insurance & Loss Prevention Specialist at 775-
687-3193. 
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January is National Radon Action Month and the 
Nevada Radon Education Program of University 
of Nevada Cooperative Extension (UNCE) will 
offer several radon education programs at 
various locations in January. Radon test kits will 
be offered free at the presentations, as well as 
throughout the month at Cooperative Extension 
locations around the state.  
 
Radon is a naturally occurring radioactive gas 
that is present in rocks and soil. It can 
accumulate in buildings and can cause lung 
cancer.  The U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) estimates 21,000 Americans die 
each year from radon-induced lung cancer, 
killing more people than secondhand smoke, 
drunk driving, falls in the home, drowning or 
fires in the home. The EPA recommends citizens 
make changes to homes if radon levels reach 4 
picocuries per liter of air (pCi/l) or higher. 
According to experts, living in a home with an 
average radon level of 4 pCi/l poses a similar risk 
of developing lung cancer to smoking half a pack 
of cigarettes a day.  
 
Radon can enter any home – old or new, well-
sealed or drafty. The only way to know a 
building’s radon level is to test. If high levels of 
radon are found, there is a way to reduce or 
mitigate radon levels. 
 
Radon-induced lung cancer is highly preventable. 
A simple three-day test can determine if a house 
has a radon problem and winter is an ideal time 
to test a home for radon. When a home is closed 
up during cooler weather months, radon 
concentrations typically increase. 
 
One can’t predict which homes will have high 
radon levels, as two neighboring homes can have 
vastly different radon levels. Therefore UNCE, 
EPA and the Nevada State Health Division urge 
all Nevadans to get their homes tested for radon.  
Free radon test kits are available during the 
months of January and February at Cooperative 
Extension offices statewide. For more 
information, visit the Nevada Radon Education 
Program website, www.RadonNV.com, or call 
the Radon Hotline, 888-RADON10 (888-723-
6610).  
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WINTER 
SAFETY 

TIPS 
 

Winter is a wonderful time of 
year, but as with any season, 
there are specific things we 
need to be aware of to keep 
ourselves safe and injury-free. 
Here are just a few: 

 

 

Home fires are more prevalent 
in the winter months than any 
other season. Cooking is the 
leading cause of all winter 
residential building fires. Other 
winter fire hazards include 
space heaters, fireplaces and 
candles.                                 
          
The cold weather increases 
your chances of getting 
frostbite or hypothermia. 
Between the years of 1999-2004, 
an average of 647 people died 
each year from hypothermia. 
             
Fatal crashes were 14% more 
likely to happen on the first 
snowy day of the season than 
on days following. It takes 
drivers a few days to regain 
their sense of driving in this 
weather.     
                                      
Most carbon monoxide 
poisonings happen in January; 
the second most in December. 
Carbon monoxide detectors 
save lives, but less than one-
third of American homes have 
one installed. 
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Risk Management is now offering a course titled, “Safety Committee Members 
Training.” Classes will be held in both Carson City and Las Vegas on a monthly basis until such 
time we can get the class online.  Classes for February are already listed in NEATS.  While not yet 
mandatory, the class is quite informative and essential for those persons serving as a safety 
committee member. 
 
We truly appreciate the efforts made by our committee members and thank you for your 
dedication. 

 
 

 
Certain Contagious Diseases 
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Occupational Diseases 

 
 
   
 
 
 
 
NRS 617.481 was enacted in 2001; the statute outlines the requirements for an 
employee that has been exposed to a contagious disease as part of their 
employment.  The statute defines “Contagious disease” to mean hepatitis A, 
hepatitis B, hepatitis C, tuberculosis, the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or 
acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS).  It also defines “Exposed” or 
“Exposure” to mean the introduction of blood or other infectious materials into the 
body of an employee during the performance of the employee’s official duties 
through the skin, eye, mucous membrane or parenteral contact.  The term includes 
contact with airborne materials carrying tuberculosis.   
 
State law supersedes the guidelines followed by CDC for exposure and testing of 
contagious diseases.  If an employee is exposed to a contagious disease during the 
course and scope of his or her employment they must be tested within 72 hours of 
the exposure and follow the State’s protocol for subsequent testing at 6 weeks, 12 
weeks, 6 months and 12 months.   Failure to be tested within 72 hours or submit 
to the follow up testing would jeopardize the employee’s benefits.  Should an 
employee report to a medical facility for testing and is refused the testing, they 
should contact their supervisor, CCMSI (775) 882-9600 or Risk Management (775) 
687-3187 to ensure that the appropriate testing is performed within the required 
time frame. 
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